acli 4

The Council of Legal Education's Law Schools namely the Hugh Wooding Law School, Norman Manley Law School (Jamaica) and the Eugene Dupuch Law School (The Bahamas) are members of the American Caribbean Law Initiative (ACLI) with the Florida Coastal School of Law, Nova Southeastern University, Stetson School of Law, Cayman Islands Law School and the Thurgood Marshall School of Law.

The purpose of the ACLI is to enable the participating institutions to derive the benefits of a collaborative relationship based on the shared goals of providing training in practical skills, partnered learning opportunities, comparative legal experience, and multicultural exposure, all within the framework of learning how to understand and serve the communities of the participating students.

One of the ACLI’s initiatives is a Caribbean Law Practicum (Caribbean Law Clinic) that allows students to work on legal problems identified by an Attorney General selected from one of the participating Caribbean and American jurisdictions. This faculty-supervised practicum serves as a legal resource for up-to-date information, analysis, and strategies in substantive areas agreed to by the participating institutions. Focal points include international law, constitutional law, criminal law, government and legal ethics, and law and technology.

The practicum provides students with the opportunity to develop professional skills such as problem-solving, legal analysis and research, factual inquiries, and dispute resolution.

For more information on the ACLI please visit

Please see the following link for footage of the Caribbean Law Clinic held at the Cayman Islands Law School in March 2011.